Classes of fire

There are four classes of fire :-

  1. Class A
  2. Class  B
  3. Class C OR E
  4. Class D

1. Class A fire:-


  • Class A fires involve ordinary combustibles, likewood, paper, cloth, trash, and plastics. It doesn’t contain metals, combustible liquids, or electricity. (Class A fires generally produced  Ashes as its final product.)
  • Class A fires can be extinguished with water.An alternative method of extinguishing a Class A fire is to smother it with a blanket, a gloved hand, or other material.


2.Class B fire :-


  • Class B fires involvesflammable liquids. This typical flammable liquids includes gasoline, oil, grease, paint, and acetone.
  • Class B fires can be very difficult to control because theyinvolve burning nonmetals in a liquid state. This classification also includes flammable gases. (Class B fires generally involve materials that Boil or Bubble.)
  • Electricity is not present in Class B fires. A Class B fire isextinguished with carbon dioxide (CO2) contained in a heavy cylinder and under pressure.

3.Class-C OR E FIRE:-

  • Class-C fires involve electrical equipment. Thus, electricityis always present. It is often combined with combustiblematerials. An additional hazard of a Class-C fire is the potential for electric shock while fighting the fire. If possible, always turn off the source of electricity before fighting an electrical fire. In Australia Class-C fire refers as a Class-E Fire

Note :- Water is strongly prohibited as a extinguish medium in Class-C fire

4.ClassD Fire:-


Class-D fires involve combustible metals. Potassium, sodium, aluminum, and magnesium burn at extremely high temperatures.

normally we can use dry chemical powder extinguisher to extinguish small metal fire.

Share this:-

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *