International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)

IMO, Most Popular

Dedicated to safe ships and clean seas, IACS(International Association of Classification Societies) makes a unique contribution to maritime safety and regulation through technical support, compliance verification and research and development. More than 90% of the world’s cargo carrying tonnage is covered by the classification design, construction and through-life compliance rules and standards set by the twelve Member Societies of IACS(International Association of Classification Societies).

IACS(International Association of Classification Societies (IACS)) is a not for profit membership organisation of classification societies that establish minimum technical standards and requirements that address maritime safety and environmental protection and ensures their consistent application. It carries out this responsibility through its panels, expert groups and project teams and provides a Quality System Certification Scheme (QSCS) that its Members comply with, as a VisualText assurance of professional integrity and maintenance of high professional standards. IACS is recognized as the principal technical advisor of IMO.

IACS Occupational Safety And Health (OSH) Policy

Safety of Surveyors

All IACS Members are fully committed to the health and safety of their surveyors. By way of reinforcing this commitment, a member of senior management from each of IACS’ Member Societies has signed the IACS Joint Statement on Safety of Surveyors. The Statement contains seven safety objectives which represent a minimum safety standard that IACS Members expect when working at third party sites. Working together with their clients the objective is to provide a safe place of work at all times.

IACS Common Structural Rules

On 14 December 2005 the Common Structural Rules for Double Hull Oil Tankers (CSR-OT) and Common Structural Rules for Bulk Carriers (CSR-BC) were unanimously adopted by the IACS(International Association of Classification Societies Council for implementation on 1 April 2006. The Council was satisfied that these Rules were based on sound technical grounds, and achieved the goals of more robust and safer ships.

These two sets of Rules were developed independently and in order to remove variations and achieve consistency, IACS decided to harmonise these Rules. There is now a single set of Rules “Common Structural Rules for Bulk Carriers and Oil Tankers” (CSR BC & OT) comprising of two parts; Part One gives requirements common to both Bulk Carriers and Double Hull Oil Tankers and Part Two provides additional specialised requirements specific to either Bulk Carriers or Double Hull Oil Tankers.

Source :-

Leave a Reply